Select Page

World Heritage sites of Nepal

Nepal is a house to many natural and cultural wonders. The country has 10 such places that have been placed in World Heritage site. Eight of them are cultural sites where two of them are natural heritages. Among eight of the cultural world heritages seven are situated in the Kathmandu Valley alone.

Following are the world heritage sites of Nepal listed by UNESCO:

1) Pashupatinath Temple

Pashupatinath is considered as the holiest temple of the Hindu religion. Situated at Kathmandu city the temple covers an area of 0.64 hector with 518 temples and monuments. The temple has been listed in the world heritage site since 1979 A.D. Pashupatinath’s main is the temple of lord shiva, however there are many other temples beside from main temples that are dedicated to various other deities. While visiting the temple one can see many temples, ashrams, idols, yogis, scriptures, and many other things.

2) Patan Durbar square

Patan durbar square is situated at the Patan city of Lalitpur district in Kathmandu valley. It is one of the three durbars situated in the valley listed in UNESCO. The ancient cultural city was founded in 3rd century. It is said that due to the available of water resources that site was selected for the building of the city. The durbar square consists of temples, museum, ancient palace, and various shops with antique collection.

3) Bhaktapur durbar square

Bhaktapur durbar square is one of three durbars is situated at the heart of the Bhaktapur district. This durbar square covers more area than patan durbar. It is home to the various attractions like 55 windows palace and 5 storey temple. Like patan it also consists of temples, museum, ancient palace, and various shops of antique collection. The city is also famous for pottery, wood carving, Bhaktapur curd and many other things.

4) Kathmandu durbar square

This is one of the major world heritage sites of Nepal and one of the three famous durbars. It is located at the heart of the Kathmandu valley at basantapur. It is also famous for its other name Hanuman dhoka durbar. The area is covered by temples, idols, scriptures, and ancient palace. One of the most noticeable things around the area is the giant statue of kaal Bhairab (A Fearsome form of lord shiva). The area is always covered by its internal and external tourists as it is one of the most visit site in the city. The food around this area is also good and attracts many visitors on the daily basis.

5) Changu Narayan Temple

Another major world heritage sites of Nepal lies in the Bhaktapur district. About 12km east of Kathmandu valley lies Changu Narayan temple. It is a huge temple dedicated to lord Vishnu. Among the four temples dedicated to four Narayan brothers scattered around the valley only this gets on the world heritage site. The main temple is dedicated to lord Vishnu whereas idol and temples of other deities can also be seen around. Unlike previous mentioned heritage sites, it lies in a village and temple is situated in top of hill of that village.

6) Boudhanath Stupa

This 36m high 5th century stupa lies in the Kathmandu district of the valley. It is one of the major religious sites for Buddhists and listed in world heritage sites of Nepal. The giant stupa is white in color, with golden head. Not just the stupa but the whole neighborhood is site to be they are made with Buddhist arts, idols, and scriptures. The stupa is covered with prayer wheels, and idols of various forms of Lord Buddha.

7) Swayambhunath Stupa

Swayambhunath is also called as monkey temple and is famous by that name. It is said to be 2500 years old and the oldest world heritage sites of Nepal. The main stupa is situated at the top of the hill while the scriptures, idols and monuments surround the complete hill. For both Hindus and Buddhists, it is a holy site. This site was listed in world heritage site in the year 1979 A.D. The main stupa of swayambhunath stupa looks like that of the boudhanath stupa.

8) Lumbini

Lumbini is the birthplace of Lord Buddha. It is the only cultural heritage site listed at world heritage sites of Nepal outside the Kathmandu valley. This heritage covers the area of 2.56 sq km. The main site of attraction is the Mahadevi temple, the crown of all the various stupas of Lumbini which has the well-preserved ruins of the house where lord Buddha was born and the steps he took immediately after birth. It is the major religious site for the Buddhists of Nepal as well as international origin.

9) Chitwan National Park

Chitwan national park is situated at chitwan district of Nepal. It is one of only two natural heritages listed on world heritage sites of Nepal. It has an area of 952.6 km square. It is the first national park of Nepal and was listed on world heritage sites of Nepal in year 1984 A.D. While chitwan national park is famous for its various wildlife and natural beauty, its crown jewels are the royal Bengal tiger and one horned rhino.

10) Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha national park lies at Himalayan region of north east Nepal. This national park was established in the year 1976 A.D. It is one of the two natural heritages listed on world heritage sites of Nepal. It has an area of 1148 km square. World’s tallest mountain Mt.Everest also falls inside this national park. It has mountains, valleys, glaciers, and trails inside its area. While chitwan national park was the first national park of Nepal, Sagarmatha national park was first to be listed on world heritage sites of Nepal in 1979 A.D.